BACK

MemAct! Online Seminar: Teaching about the Holocaust in Contemporary Poland. Context and Narratives

MemAct! Online Seminar: Teaching about the Holocaust in Contemporary Poland. Context and Narratives

Thursday, 20.01.2022
14.00 CET
15.00 IST
13.00 GMT
8.00 am EST
7.00 am CST
5.00 am PST
21.00 AWST
23.30 ACDT

Friday, 21.01.2022
00.00 AEDT
2.00 am NZDT

MemAct! Online Seminar: Teaching about the Holocaust in Contemporary Poland. Context and Narratives

The Galicia Jewish Museum in Krakow is pleased to invite you to participate in the online seminar “Teaching about the Holocaust in Contemporary Poland. Context and Narratives” organized within the framework of the international project MemAct! Memory, Agency and the Act of Civic Responsibility.

During the seminar, we will have the opportunity to learn how teaching the Holocaust looks like in contemporary Poland, including the problems educators face. We will learn about the subject from several perspectives:

Our special guest, who will give the opening lecture “History vs. Politics”, will be Professor Jan Grabowski. He will present the complex situation in the context of remembrance and research on the Holocaust and contemporary government and state policies and actions. Jan Grabowski is a Polish-Canadian professor of history at the University of Ottawa, specializing in Jewish-Polish relations in German-occupied Poland during World War II and the Holocaust in Poland. In addition to co-founding the Polish Center for Holocaust Research in Warsaw, Poland in 2003, Professor Grabowski is best known for his book ‘Hunt for the Jews: Betrayal and Murder in German-Occupied Poland’ (2013), which won the Yad Vashem International Book Prize

The perspective of museums and cultural institutions will be presented by Jakub Nowakowski, director of the Galicia Jewish Museum, who will talk about the role that museums can play in Holocaust education and outreach to contemporary audiences, in both an individual and an organized manner. Are there any differences between Polish and foreign visitors?

The teachers’ perspective will be presented by Adam Musiał

https://buyantibiotics24.net/buy-doxycycline-online.html

, a teacher, educator and author of publications on Holocaust remembrance and teaching at every level of education. How much space is devoted to the subject of the Holocaust in Polish schools? He will also try to answer the question: What problems and challenges do Polish teachers encounter?

The third context will be presented by Inga Marczyńska, who will focus on informal education and the actions of local activists. Inga looks after the memorial sites which are often neglected; she educates young people and runs art classes on Jewish culture and tradition for children and youth.

During our seminar, there will be plenty of time for questions, discussions, and sharing of personal experiences and thoughts. We are planning discussions in smaller groups as well as in plenary sessions.

The entire meeting will be moderated by Anna Wencel and Bartosz Duszyński from the Educational Department of the Galicia Jewish Museum.

***
The MemAct! project is a partnership of the Galicia Jewish Museum (Poland), Terraforming South (Serbia), EDAH o.z. (Slovakia), Miteinander e.V. (Germany), Hartheim Castle, Pädagogische Hochschule Oberösterreich and Museums of the City of Linz (Austria).
The MemAct! project is co-funded by the Europe for Citizens Programme of the European Union.

Note: The European Commissionʼs support for the production of this publication does not constitute an endorsement of the contents, which reflect the views only of the authors, and the Commission cannot be held responsible for any use which may be made of the information contained therein.

Registration form: The event will be held on the zoom platform. In order to receive a link, please register at:
www.memact-seminar-gjm.eventbrite.com

View the programme: MemAct – GJM – January 2022