Concert: “Karol Rathaus im Memoriam 2”

Concert: “Karol Rathaus im Memoriam 2”

The Galicia Jewish Museum and Karol Rathaus Foundation would like to invite you to a concert Karol Rathaus im Memoriam, during which we will listen to the works of Karol Rathaus, a Polish emigre composer of Jewish origin, whose second homeland became the United States. During the concert the audience will be able to listen to works which will premiere in Poland for the first time, including Eine kleine Serenade op. 23 (1927), Mazurka (1941), Polish Polka (1941), Confused Intermezzo (The Pole in Spain) / Habanera and Mazurka (1941).

Karol Rathaus is the author of over 140 orchestral, chamber, and solo works, most of which still remain in the manuscripts, whilst some were published in prominent musical publishing houses and were quite often performed during his life. In his European period he became famous for, among other works, his ballets: Der letzte Pierrot (premiered in Berlin, Opera, 1927, conducted by Georg Szell) and Le lionamoureux (order of the Russian Ballets, premiered in London, Covent Garden, 1937, conducted by Antal Doráti), as well as a 5-act opera Fremde Erde (premiered in Berlin, Opera, 1930, conducted by Erich Kleiber). It is worth noting that he also created one of the first sound movies in cooperation with distinguished film directors such as Fiodor Ocep (e.g. in Der Mörder Dimitri Karamasoff).

The concert will be performed by:
Paweł Cal – French horn
Damian Lipień – bassoon
Piotr Nowak – trumpet
Marcin Hałat – violin
Piotr Lato – clarinet
Aleksandra Hałat – piano

Free admission.