Concert: American Dream – Polish Artists Overseas

Concert: American Dream – Polish Artists Overseas

Aleksandra Hałat – piano
Marcin Hałat – violin

“American Dream – Polish Artists Overseas” is a project created by a pianist, a chamber musician, and a lecturer at the Silesian University in Katowice, Dr. Aleksandra Hałat. It aims to promote the works of lesser known Polish composers who were immigrants to the US in the 20th century, among them: Karol Rathaus, Michał Kondracki, Feliks Łabuński, Tadeusz Kassern. This concert also includes the works of Jerzy Fitelberg whose compositions are unknown in Poland. His music was discovered by Dr. Hałat during a routine library visit in 2023 while conducting research as part of the “Białe Plamy” (“Blank Pages”) scholarship endowed by the National Institute of Music and Dance in Poland. The manuscripts of these works – for violin and piano, and for voice and piano – cannot be found in any of the Polish libraries.

Free admission.

This project is co-financed by the Ministry of Culture and National Heritage of Poland.